Daily Wild

By emyjane

Wet Wet Wet

View Large

Compact camera again (I'm rather fond of it), I feel so shattered, but good, positive, I didn't sell any paintings, I never do in shows like that, but I got an awful lot of interest & many people said they'd visit my open studios which is this coming Friday till Sunday.

Last night was a great success with the Private View - at one point there were at least 150 people there & Lady Arran gave a splendid speech, here she is with my friend Stella last night.

Lady Arran - her maiden name Fortescue - was once a big name in these parts, if you are interested in the history of Castle Hill, then read about it here, they are in fact the 16th generation of Fortescue to live in Castle Hill - Lady Arran herself works for Prince Charles & they were at Prince Philip's 90th Birthday celebration in London on Friday - so pretty well connected, but Lady Arran is so lovely, let's say accommodating - not at all stand offish or too proud to talk to us "commoners" - she really is one of the people! It's a typical country estate with dogs running all over the place & I cannot stress enough if you're ever in this part of the world, please visit Castle Hill, it truly is a stunning place! It's a few miles from South Molton, close to the beginnings of Exmoor.

At the end of the day, Lady Arran's guests came through the doors - all very rich & all American - they had a wonderful time trying on the hats - if I was a good portrait photographer, I could have got a better shot then these - I just don't want to intrude! Although I like this shot of the fair & the American gentleman who had no interest at all of the art displayed!!!

And for the first time in my blipfoto, here's myself, standing next to my paintings - I look dreadful, so tired, & that was after a few glasses of wine too! ;-)

Oops essay writing here, sorry, back to the blip, the daisy, they've only just started flowering in my garden, soon it'll be a wash of yellow & of course the water droplets like jewels! And I literally came from the Crown Jewels at Castle Hill! ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.