Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Still Life Challenge...

...the challenge being to take the still life shot before Noah ate his way through the composition!

There were a good many more grapes on that bunch at the start of the photography session. I wonder if Cezanne or Vermeer et al had to contend with people consuming their props.

In Christian art the pomegranate represents the resurrection while grapes represent the blood of Christ. Artists have used these symbols down the years to imbue their paintings with religious significance and elevate their work. In the art of Debra Grant however these items represent what was left in my fruit bowl this evening. Do I still get elevated?

It took me an hour and a half to get to work this morning. Presumably there had been an accident on the route in. The practice is still in disarray but bits are really starting to take shape and it's very exciting to see what it might look like when it's finished.

Bob and H went rummaging in the attic tonight for an old old Hornby train set of Bob's, which is broken but which the boys have set themselves the target of resurrecting...so maybe those pomegranates do have some significance after all. I found a few potential props up there too, including some lovely wooden candle holders...I feel a new still life project in the offing...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.