Rodents rule

By squirk

Year of the rodent

While waiting for my bus, I hopped into the fountain area of Somerset House to check out its first ever modern art installation. These bronze animal heads are several of twelve representing the animals of the Chinese zodiac. They were created by the Chinese artist Ai Weiwei, who has been under arrest in China since 3 April (for alleged economic crimes). The Tate Modern on the other side of the river from Somerset House has a large "Free Ai Weiwei" banner running along from its roof. His sunflower seed installation ran until May this year.

There more about these zodiac sculptures here.

Today was a good day with some to-do tasks ticked. I celebrated those ticks by treating Fred and myself to a Thai meal. We were supporting the local economy (which is always what I say when I can't be bothered to cook and fancy a meal out).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.