Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Stop for contemplation

Thankfully, I had to make one of my trips to the bank around mid-day today, otherwise I probably would have wasted the lovely weather and stayed computer-bound. Business done, I went on one of my blip-wanders, thinking in terms of the fine georgian architecture around Pembroke Street. On the way, I passed a trio of laneways. On one I found some nice shadow-play happening, the next contained a strangely maritime-lookingy building, and the third offered a confusing view towards yet another laneway behind.

None of the planned Georgian blips cut the mustard, so a sudden notion saw me take a quick hop over to Grand Canal Square to see what it's like during the day. It's a popular spot for al fresco lunch, apparently (with the majority of the lunchers construction workers from the new hotel and theatre being built there). I just did a quick tour of the square. It was actually warm enough to sit around like this cyclist, but I couldn't afford too much time away from the design work waiting back home. It's good to see that the canal basin still remains open to the water. Hopefully it will remain like this, and won't be railed off to protect us against ourselves.

One of the Grand Prix gang is over in Sitges at the moment. He's been busily texting about arrangements for meeting up during my time in Barcelona next week, and we've now agreed to get together on Sunday evening. He advises bringing some warm clothes, because the evenings are chilly there. Hopefully it'll pick up next week. It'd be ironic if things were brighter and warmer here than there. Please let this not be. Meanwhile, I came back home refreshed and invigorated after my little burst of lunch-time fresh air, and have been productive since. I'm on schedule to have the work plate cleared by tomorrow mid-day, and then it's down to final preparations for Sunday's (very) early-morning flight to Barcelona.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.