Martello Tower, Sutton

It's been a long time since I've gone on a Blip wander, but at last it happened this afternoon. I'd wrapped things up with the holding page for the web site, and was free to devote myself to my own devices. I only had a vague idea of where I might take the camera: St Anne's Park, perhaps, or Dollymount, Malahide, or Howth ... I was still undecided by the time I got to Raheny, but then the car almost made up my mind for me and Sutton won out in the end.

I drove along the coast towards the martello tower and stopped at the cliff walk which leads to it. I'm delighted I did. It wasn't exactly gorgeous weather by any means, with a strong blustery wind coming off the sea and making it difficult to keep the camera steady. There were a couple of squally showers too, and the driving rain was quite uncomfortable. But it was bracing all the same, and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I've been here before, of course. It's good to see quite a bit of progress with the renovation work since then.

It's the first time in a while that I've actually found it difficult to decide what the eventual blip should be. This one won out in the end, but it was touch and go. Other candidates were these two distant views of the tower, this old-fashioned mansion, and two other up-close views of the tower, showing just how changeable the sky was.

All in all, it's been a good and a productive week. I'm looking forward to the weekend. We're meeting our Bray friends for a meal tomorrow evening (hi there, DaveW!), and then, of course, Sunday sees the start of the new Formula 1 Grand Prix season. What with the clock changing and all that, I doubt that I'll watch the Australian race live, but we'll see. At least the silly changes to the points system have been deferred for another year. It'll be interesting to see how the other new regulations affect things, and even more interesting to see how the Brawn team (ex Honda) will perform.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.