With mountains like these

By Sollergirl

Spice of life

Ben and the entire class moving swiftly from the Black Eyed Peas to salsa in a well coordinated and enthusiastic couple of steps. Such was the beginning of the end of a a day of goodbyes, some very tearful. At work, the children secretly (and not so) signed shirts and hugged each other as some students moved on to pastures new. It's so sad to see them go and I wish them all well. And then, finally in an easier sociable context, I got to know my colleagues better over lunch. How wonderful they all are! The mix of characters is perfect and I'm a lucky person to have fallen into a group like this. It's my last day tomorrow until September and I know I will be looking forward to seeing them. I couldn't really ask for more in a job than this.

With slight anasthaesia, I was transported home to find the boys with Anna-Lia and Fernando happily involved in a game with so many local rules already invented it was hard to keep up.

Ben had a slight fit of nerves, and then I found out why. First, Agu said his 'molt gros' bit beautifully into the microphone and swam about the stage as a shiny fish with great aplomb. Everyone stood up, sat down and fished about at the right moments. Wonderful. And then the great secret - my Ben standing in the middle of the stage and dancing. Confidently dancing with Marina. I had no idea what they were going to do. And now, trying not to gush, I'm hugely proud of him for just getting up there and doing it and having a great time. This country has got something so right. Dancing. It's a spice we can't do without.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.