2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Rosemary leaf beetle

It is thanks to a blipper that I recognised this beetle when I saw it in my lavender this morning. Iggyquiggy posted a picture of one of these on the 14 June on a lovely lilac-coloured flower. I hadn't heard of them before and it sounds as if it is another introduced species from Southern Europe. Apparently it is spreading in the South of England and London. It is regarded as a pest by commercial lavender growers but I can't say I'm too worried about it on my hedge (not unless their numbers really boom). It has the Latin name Chrysolina americana possibly in honour of the American striped flag. It certainly is a lovely shiny beetle with amazing colours.

I took this photo in my front garden this morning. Last night's book group hostess came past on the way back from walking her older dog and asked what I was photographing (she used to bring me stag beetle bodies to post so she knows that I'm a bit of a mad woman). She hadn't seen the rosemary beetles before either. She was carrying an empty vodka bottle and some beer cans - she's not a dipsomaniac - just tidies up after some antisocial yobs who leave their empties on a verge near us or in the local park. Another neighbour then also stopped to say hello. I did make it into work eventually!

Had to do some desk swapping today as somebody else had computer problems. Made a change. Training all day tomorrow. Hoping to be able to cycle to the local station if the rain holds off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.