A Sasanach's Skye photos

By Sasanach

Pink Guesthouse

Whilst it appears that the rest of the country is bathed in hot sunshine we continue to experience winter. Overcast and heavy rain all day. Cold too! No wonder the visitors seem to come and go.

Have the scientists got it all wrong? Over the last few years we have been warned about rising temperatures; about rising sea levels due to the melting of the polar ice; about changes to our flora and fauna.

Yet this season seams to me to have taken several steps backward. It is generally colder and wetter. Oh, we still get the occasional warm day. We still see the sun. Sometimes I think YES the summer has arrived. And then a couple of days later we return to wind and rain.

OK so I live on the Isle of Skye. It is in the far north west of the United Kingdom. So you ask. 'What more should I expect?' Well for one thing, I dont think I should be wearing winter woolys in June. I don't think I should be tempted to seek out my gloves.

Come on God, let us see some summer before we meet autumn again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.