Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Fallen Blossoms

Apologies for no blip yesterday. I had intended to take some shots on my way home from the appointment at the Florida Retina Institute. Of course, I had forgotten all about having one's pupils dilated for an eye examination. The walk back, sans sunglasses, was most unpleasant. The sunlight was blinding. I walked home either staring at the ground or squinting through half closed eyes. I won't make that mistake next time.

Yes, there will be a next time. My diagnosis was confirmed by the ophthamologist and there are no signs of damage to the retina at the moment. However, I do have a small haemorrhage on the optic nerve and that has the potential for glaucoma.

I was told to come back in three weeks, which turns out to be five weeks because the doctor is on vacation for three weeks in July. All right for some.

I still have to contend with the problem of floaters, black shapes that skate across my line of vision -- painless but downright annoying.

This morning I learned of the death of a friend in England at the age of 48. I never met him but through his blog site and e-mail correspondence I got to know the warmth of his personality just as if I met up with him on a regular basis in the pub. His writing style was easy-going and anything he wrote was always an enjoyable read. The news of his death has both shocked and saddened me.

I spotted these fallen crepe myrtle blossoms on the hood/bonnet of the car this morning. I have to admit the idea for the shot came from Lynn Roylance's blip yesterday. He captured ash from a forest fire in New Mexico on the hood of his car.

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.