Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Trough House on Danby High Moor

This small building is probably linked to the Grouse Shooting, which is big business in this part of the world. It always seems wrong to me to deliberately breed birds in order for someone to come along and shoot them in the name of sport. But it is an enormously complicated issue as I'm sure that the fact that the Moors are there for us all to enjoy in this form is also due to the way the land owners look after the the land and the grouse. (I'll read this again later - I'm sure I can say the same thing in a simpler way.)

We've walked about 8 miles today in sun and cloud, but fortunately not rain. I've been taking photos of the patterns made by the field boundaries but I need to do something else with them yet.

Time to go for some food now - we'll see if our legs will still carry us the mile and a half to the pub.

Back later!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.