KatGirl

By katgirl

Worse

Another hospital ceiling shot.

The neck pain became excruciating. One emergency room doctor blew it off as a non-emergency and sent me home with inadequate pain meds and instructions to get an MRI on my own. I spent the night in tears from pain and went to the emergency room of my neurologist's teaching hospital in NYC the next day. It was an awful wait in the emergency room, as sitting up for 4 hours brought back the spinal headache and nausea in addition to the neck ache. Apparently, they one in the same. The leak never sealed. Because I was laying flat, I didn't have the headache, but the fluid settled in my neck causing the exquisite pain there. The doctors and nurses here have been great. They are more equipped to handle my unusual case than the other hospital. Last night, when I was in terrible pain, the nurse came on shift and saw my face (which was not so painful the night before) and hopped in to action to get me feeling better right away. I am immensely grateful to her for that.

Tomorrow I talk with anesthesiologists to see if anyone is willing to patch the leak...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.