Cleveland skyline

This evening we went with our youngest daughter's family and our granddaughter Carrie (aka blipsqueak) to try out a new (to us) restaurant in the Tremont neighborhood of Cleveland. Tremont sits on a hillside overlooking the Cuyahoga River and the downtown skyline. Like a good blipper, I had my camera with me, but I had never been to that area of the city before and didn't know what kind of blip opportunities it would present.

I was really pleased with the shots I got and had a hard time deciding which one to post: the black labrador wearing a birthday hat, the kayaker following a large ship down the river, St. Theodosia's Orthodox Catholic Church where scenes from the movie The Deer Hunter (starring Robert DeNiro and Meryl Streep) were filmed? I had a nice selection from which to choose and finally settled on this shot of the city. For people who know Cleveland, you can see Progressive Field, the home of the Indians, Terminal Tower, and other places of interest. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is just over the horizon and out of sight. This is a bit different from my usual blips, but I had a lot of fun capturing these pictures.

P.S. Another blip option would have been the draw bridge being raised for a large boat navigating the bends of the Cuyahoga River. The Cuyahoga, a very crooked river that empties into Lake Erie just north of where I took this picture, gave name to Mark Winegardner's book Crooked River Burning. It actually did catch on fire a number of times because of pollution.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.