earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Filigree

It's the weekend and the sun has actually been shining ... and it's even been warm! Looking back over the blips of the last month it would be easy to assume that we are enjoying the most glorious summer in England. The sun seems to be out in just about every picture. But it hasn't felt like summer because it's been so damn cool. Last Wednesday and Thursday, cycling back home in the evening, my hands were numb with the cold. I even wore full gloves on the Thursday and my fingers still froze. It was as much as I could do to use the camera! What am I going to do in the winter?

I have to admit that I've felt rather tired today. Jobs to do and cricket matches to watch have taken a big chunk out of the day so I haven't got too far afield ... nor been able to get around to see what other people have been up to here. It does seem a bit of a shame to be spending time on the computer when the weather is so fantastic. I hope I'm forgiven!

The firsts won in the last over for the second week running in an enthralling game (despite No.1 son getting out cheaply with the pressure on at the end). The seconds scraped a draw (and 2 points) with No.2 son stonewalling the last couple of overs as last man in. Like father, like son it seems. That was the only thing I could ever do as a batsman!

I've kept being attracted to a certain type of grass this last week. The shape of the heads are exquisitely geometrical and the seed husks have a luminescent quality. But I've noticed that they are beginning to break open ready for pollination, spoiling the beautiful symmetry, so today was the day to get the shot I was after. Well ... it hasn't proved easy. That three-dimensionality which is so appealing is also very hard to capture. And the devils get blown about in the slightest puff of breeze. I had a few very 'arty' images but chose to blip this one in the end because I thought the title worked rather well.

Once again I've been honoured by the attention of the mysterious spotlight. Thanks guys once more for your wonderful comments. Pancake Stone was a bit of a surprise. It rather blew me away when I first saw it on the screen. Having the stone in the foreground like that does seem to give the image an astonishing depth. Perhaps I've stumbled upon a well known technique! Anyway, I was very happy with the result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.