earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Fractal Umbrellas

I've been for a good bike ride today, about 60 miles, over to Arncliffe and Malham, stopping for a while at Kettlewell to catch up with some friends. It was another gorgeous summer's day, with lots of stops made for pictures. The quality of the light was again perfect for landscapes. It's odd then that I've been prevaricating over my choice of blip between two very different shots, neither of which is a landscape. Both, though, characterise the kind of day it's been.

I finally blipped this one because it carried on the theme from yesterday, looking directly into the sun, and highlighting nature's geometry. I love the way this Cow Parsley exhibits a fractal-like shape, exhibiting a self-similarity on two different scales. I wonder if you can find three or more levels like this in nature anywhere. I would imagine so. Any ideas?

The almost blip was going to be titled An English Obsession. It's a shot of the only beach (here in Ilkley) I know of within a 50 mile radius and, as is the English way, people flock here on any warm weekend to get out their deckchairs and claim their few square feet of pebbles! I'm a more solitary soul. I've always been one for finding a little more peace and quiet.

Thanks for the wonderful comments and ratings on Filigree. It hit the spotlight this evening, which is a lovely endorsement of a blip I was rather proud of. Cheers everyone. I hope your weekend has been as good as mine. They are forecasting rain for the week, so at least that might give me a chance to catch up with people. I fear I am still lagging behind!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.