an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Old & Tough, not like me

Today started well enough, I even had a proper shave for only the second time this year. After this I had some breakfast and then returned to the bathroom to brush my teeth. The real tone of the day was about to be set.

For the last couple of weeks I have been suffering from the strangest throat pain. It all seemed to start after a particularly powerful sneeze. Since then every time I sneezed (which for some reason happens a few times a day when I am at work) it would hurt, to which point I went to see my Doctor on Wednesday.

After looking at his computer, checking me over and asking if my wife had hit me, he told me I am too young to be ill and am quite healthy. So with a clean bill of health I have continued on my merry way and only yesterday was thinking how my throat had felt better.

Fast forward to today and when I drank some water from the tap after brushing my teeth as I swallowed something in my throat felt like it clicked, but not in a good way. A little like putting your back out but in your throat. The pain was not nice.

Today Peppa Pig was in town and Wife and Toddler were off to it so I threw a couple of pain killers down my neck, walked them to the theatre and then headed for hot drinks to soothe the throat with baby.

Later we met up with Wife and Toddler again and headed down to the common where there was a Fair on and an Armed Forces Day. All the swallowing involved in eating lunch took its toll and so shortly after watching the veterans parade I headed for home to call NHS direct. Paracetamol and a visit back to my Doctor tomorrow was the advice given followed by a lie down.

I bet the veteran pictured would have coped a bit better with today than I have, a proper tough guy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.