Capital adventures

By marchmont

Rain

As usual up by 9. There were black, forbidding clouds to the west and sure enough just as I was thinking about going poolside the heavens opened and there was a tropical storm for about 45 minutes. I tried to capture the falling rain from the balcony but just succeeded on getting water on the lens.

W H went off late a.m. to the opening of her architectural practice's installation, linked to Archidex '11. When she got back we went down to Mont Kiara Plaza for some food and a browse round the new Mont Kiara 1 MAll, looking fior a birthday present. The owner of the shop where they bought stuff is from Coatbridge and we chatted about the SNP and Scottish independnce, no escaping these expat Scots.

It was aother lazy afternoon. No recurrence of the rain so I went to the pool and G and W H caught up on lost sleep. I also sewed cats and watched re-runs of Albert and Charlene's religious ceremony, musing on the parallels - and the obvious diffrences.

I'm not looking forward to going home but I know I can't stay here.

At night we went for a 'farewell meal' (my treat) at The Press room, Bangsor Shopping Centre. Not a Malay or Chinese influence in sight - I had foie gras, wiener schnitzel and chocolate volcano (like the M & S advert!). G had oven baked Camembert, the schnitzel and a cheese platter shared with W H. W H had French onion soup, duck confit and the shared cheese. Sides were French beans and garlic and French fries. We also had 2 bottles of a Languedoc Merlot from Pezenas. Wine is NOT cheap here (and everthing comes + 10% service charge and 6% government tax) - luckily I'd loaded the Caxton card.

The it was home and sraight to bed before midnight - some people have work tomorrow. The undrunk half bottle of Merlot is now in the kitchen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.