While on my runs

By waipushrink

Flaming sunset

Yet again, a photo of the sunset from the deck of our apartment.

It seems that every time I choose to snap a building I pass on one of my routes, that evening the sky is so fantastic that I cannot resist it. One day .....

After a day of writing a report from the meeting I was at on Friday, and then working further on a report to the Court, I went to collect Mr H from his after school activities, and then also Young L from kindy.

Walking home with Young L was a challenge. He decided that it was more fun to pull his knitted hat over his face so he that couldn't see, and just walked along holding my hand. Dragging, going sideways, but generally in the right direction. Just slooowwwwly. Then he dropped his hat as we set off to cross the road at the lights, and we had to turn and go back for it. And then wait for the cycle to run through again. Afterwards, the hat went up so he could use his eyes as we went past the motorcycle shop.

All the way home I could see the sun as a molten orb of gold heading to the horizon. By the time we got inside and I could tell S and Mr H to look as well, the sun was halfway gone. Went for the camera, and sun all gone when I had it. So all my shots were of the sky after the sun had set.

I started to post this picture unaltered, and then thought that it was much darker than I remembered it. So I decided to lighten the shadows, and this is the result. Before the tweak, the upper harbour was invisible apart from the wee strip of red. In this version, the lights of West Harbour can be seen on the water in the far distance. Because it was not yet dark, most street lights and house lights were not switched on, or if they were they were not visible in this picture.

This is the 11th blip of a sunset from the deck. Each one does have its distinctive elements. The smaller strip of reflected sunlight is Coxs Bay, scene of yesterday's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.