While on my runs

By waipushrink

Low tide on the Waitemata

Another slow start. Well it is Sunday, and when I was much younger and at university this morning's rising would have been thought early. Nevertheless, coffee beckoned rather more than a run, as did the Sunday paper, as even more so did the thought that I could go in the warmth of the middle of the day.

Then mother of Mr H and Young L rang to say the boys wanted to visit, and could it be a long one as two energetic boys were not conducive to getting ready to return to the class room fray. So, a visit to the slide park (Western Park which has incredible slides for the kids). Spent a couple of hours there and I had to call the stop, or we'd still be there!!

Back to the apartment, meeting Mummy as we went to go in. Inside, the requests were for Granny's iPhone and iPad and the games. Plus the lego plus .... No shortage of energy.

I left them to it and went out on a run across to Coxs Bay where the tide was right out. The sun was low in the sky and sending a great swathe of bright light across the water to the bay. The yachts which are moored in the bay were all out of the water. The only place I could get a decent shot without pointing directly at the sun was where I took this. Under a couple of pohutukawa.

The absence of activity is misleading as the road in the foreground is busy even at this time on a Sunday afternoon, and walkers and joggers are common. But I like the appearance of quiet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.