A chef's day...

By chef

Crispy potato

I usually use maris piper for these as they have a lower sugar content and will not burn. But, at the moment maris piper is few and far between as we are between seasons with the potatoes. So the supplier sent me this Italian new potato. I tastes very nice but it doesn't keep crisp enough for chips or crisps.

I slice it on the mandolin and place a layer of it in clarified butter in a blini pan. I cook it on the stove until it starts colouring and then turn it over and cook it until it is golden brown. Place it on some kitchen paper to draw the butter out and season with salt. Now I have a large crisp! I use it with the duck dish.

Fine slices of roasted Aylesbury duck breast and a confit leg on Puy lentils and chorizo with crispy potato, fennel compote and a tarragon and poultry jus.

Thank you all for the congrats on the new job. I'm still very chuffed that I am now going to be a lecturer, sounds very posh for a chef!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.