Scared Sh*tless

No, not the ride on this rollercoaster, I never took that one on (someone had to hold the bags obviously). The other DWD thrill-seekers did though, jumping aboard Sea World's Manta coaster and screaming like banshees all the way around.

The best of it is, I wasn't even aware I'd caught them on camera here. The sign had said there was a 45 minute wait to board and I'd just picked out this spot 140ft directly below the first drop and had fired off a few test shots when I noticed Euan's petrified face as I previewed one of them.

And it wasn't any of the other rides that had me 'keeking ma keks' either (though the over two hour wait for the glorified log flume had us bored shitless. No. It was the heart stopping moment when I realised my wallet wasn't in my pocket that did it. A feeling of complete panic kicked in as I tried to remember where I'd last seen it then tried to recall if I'd been bumped into or jostled and given someone the opportunity to slip away with it.

The thought even crossed my mind that this was some sort of diabolical punishment for me being a smart arse and choosing locker No. 666 to store Samantha and Heather's baggage earlier.

We hot-footed it back to the restaurant we'd not long eaten in and almost man-handled the manager to ask if any wallet had been handed in but she just shook her head. A complete feeling of dread was beginning to take over when one of the other waiters came out to say yes, a wallet had been found. And it was mine. Unbelievable relief at having it back, not so much for the money that was in it, but more over not having the hassle of trying to stop all the cards whilst away from home and not losing all the other important bits and pieces inside. The young guy genuinely didn't want any reward either as he said he wasn't allowed to but I explained to his boss it was just a tip for the chips french fries he'd served us earlier.

Other than that minor hiccup (!) it was a great day spent watching killer whales, seals, dolphins and all other manner of sea life, along with riding rides, eating lunch in a big aquarium and generally wearing out footwear wandering around in awe at how well the Americans do all this kind of thing.

Awesome day. Scary day. Lucky Day. Exhausting day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.