Old

These French dictionaries in my classroom are old and falling to bits. Can't quite bring myself to throw them away. They looked great in the morning sun. Apparently they smell old too. I don't usually get close enough to them to find out!

Old is how I am feeling tonight. I'm sitting here on the couch; knowing that I have things I should be doing and just not quite being able to find the energy to do them.

The dog and cat need feeding. Tea needs cooking. The washing up from a few days ago needs doing (the trays have been soaking, in case you think I'm gross!). I have school work to do. I have clothes to put away. I have dusting and vacuuming to do.

And yet, here I sit. Just being for a while.

I plan to have a bath later on. A face pack. A hair-conditioning treatment. A small glass of red wine. Suddenly I realise that this will be the first time I've had to just relax and spend time on me since the weekend.

And somehow that makes me feel even more tired.

Pull yourself together woman! Only one week and a day and then it's the holidays. Bring 'em on!

And stop being grumpy with those you love, just because you're tired.

There we go. Good talking to self done and dusted; unlike the shelves and the table and ...

Night all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.