LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

A Wee Library

About 5 miles from where this blip was taken, 85,000 festival go-ers have pitched up at Balado for this year's T in the Park. But in the nearby village of Kinnesswood, I watched four locals take an evening walk to 'The Reading Room: Portmoak Book and Magazine Exchange.

This converted British Telecom red phonebox is filled with books, magazines, journals and periodicals and people are encouraged to bring 'something in and take something away'. As you can see, at the bottom of the reading room, a local dog has brought something along - I wonder if he took anything away?

At a time when local libraries are being closed or services being cut back, it's really encouraging to see a community led initiative like this - and to see it being used by adults and children. The man I spoke to said it was a novel idea (no pun intended I think!) and he seemed pleased that I had parked up to take pictures of it. I know where I am going the next time I have a pile of paperbacks lined up for the charity shop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.