Teeth!

Teeth cleaning is silly time here. Ben loves it. Especially when I'm sitting a couple of metres away pulling faces at him!! At one point he was leaning back in daddy's arms waving his hands in the air... while daddy kept brushing his teeth...

Church this morning, lots more fun on the same theme as yesterday's celebration of cultures here in Worthing. Ben and Ede paired up again and had a blast! They settled happily in creche together and us parents were able to listen to the message and concentrate too.

At one point the speaker was talking about all the different missions that are going on around the world at the moment, missions that we are part of as a church, and missions that we are associated with as part of the group of churches we belong to. I'd love to go on mission one day. But I told God that if that's what He wanted from me, He'd have to heal me of diabetes first... I have never really entertained the idea of any long-term mission simply because of the medication point of view.

God said, don't limit yourself, don't impose limitations on yourself. I'm bigger than all of that.

I feel like the future has suddenly expanded to involve countless more possibilities :)

This afternoon we have spent relaxing. Steve has had a pretty full-on weekend, on PA/techy duty all afternoon yesterday and all morning today; so this afternoon we chilled out in front of the GP and the Tour de France. That was after getting home from church and each of us going into self-preservation mode and just about managing to sort ourselves out with enough sustenance to bring us back up to speed! I discovered that a full 200g tub of hummous is around 16g carbs - fab! - and takes roughly 2 large sticks of celery, most of a large red pepper, a handful of cherry tomatoes and two slices of toast (the toast was Steve's) to get through :) That wasn't the extent of my lunch but it was most enjoyable. Tell you what though, after all that salad, and then a nectarine to finish, all I wanted was chocolate.... *sigh*

Nachos and fajitas for tea, homemade fajita spice mix mmm not bad at all! One fajita is 28g carbs though... not that it mattered, I could only manage one and a half. Bah. Tummy getting smaller already, just as my appetite has returned!


AND, for the first time in his self-aware life, I think, Ben went to sleep for his daddy while I was actually in the house. I gave up. I spent 45 minutes up with Ben, him not settling for me; but I called Steve upstairs to take over while I went to the loo and Ben actually settled down and went to sleep for him! I don't think that's ever happened before, not while I was in the house, and certainly not after I'd started the bedtime process! Ben and Steve have had some proper quality time recently, even with Steve's busyness. It's paying off :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.