Bounce!

Well. What a day. Busy.

An innundation of iphone images to go through, seeing as I forgot my camera...

Today didn't start particularly well, with a poor drop-off at pre-school. The staff there, a couple of weeks ago, agreed with me that drop-offs should be brief. We've tried long drop-offs, where I've stayed for a while to try and settle him in. We had a couple of great drop-offs where he was happy to give me a kiss and say 'bye, but since then it's all gone downhill again. Anyway the agreement was that I would hand him over personally to a member of staff, as soon as possible after arrival. Only problem has been that there's not been anybody to give him to on arrival! So two weeks running now I've got there and waited and not taken him in to play so of course what happens? He starts getting upset. Eventually somebody comes to take him off me at which point he's really really upset. Far more than if I'd gone in with him and played a bit! Hey ho. Thank goodness for summer holidays, it was his last session of pre-school until September today.

I've agreed with Steve that in September we'll try again with pre-school, but if by November the drop-offs aren't improving any, pre-school will stop until a bit later. I can't be dealing with his stress and my stress and a newborn as well. His whole life so far I've been going down a secure attachment route, and he doesn't like this and if it's really not working for him I'm not going to push it. We'll try again when he's a bit older. He doesn't seem to have formed any kind of attachment with any of the staff at the pre-school, which is why he's not happy to be left there. It didn't take this long at the nursery he used to go to, and of all the places I have to leave him, this is the only one he has issues with.


So that was fun. All too soon it was time to pick him up again, and then the mad dash began getting lunches together, changing nappies, putting bags together, dashing out to Hayley's house (where he was totally happy and gave me a kiss 'bye (twice!) and ran off to play) and then off to the diabetes centre for round 2 of my course.

I'd had insulin and a slice of toast before picking Ben up, and by the time I got to the centre I was proper hungry so had one of my sandwiches while I was there - I was allowed on condition I could tell them the carbohydrate content of it :-) (I passed the test and ate!) Another really interesting afternoon. By the end of it I'd been given an insulin:carb ratio to use, and given some more homework to do..... Tell you what though. All the other girls were surprised that the nurses still thought my sugar levels were too high!!! Compared to theirs, they were really good. Compared to what my sugar levels were a month ago, they were brilliant! And there was me looking forward to being let off the naughty step on Friday when I see the diab/antenatal team.... Ah well. A few days to improve again :)

I didn't snack this time during the afternoon. By the end of the course my sugar level was a perfect pre-meal level, and I was STARVING. So I'm basically having more than 3 "meals" a day now, and dosing appropriately. By the time I got back to Hayleys I was so hungry I just had to sit and eat and 40 minutes later was feeling able to stand up again... not due to low blood sugar or anything, just hunger. And I can't function when I'm hungry-sick.


Ben was fine, he loves playing with Hayley's kids, and they love him too. We stayed for tea again and these pics were all taken after tea - Ben got to hold the 10 day old chick, and was remarkable unscared by it! He's normally really not keen on holding anything new, so this was great to watch :) He played on the trampoline until it was time to go home, at which point Steve had to go in after him to retrieve him from said trampoline :) He fell asleep on the way home, typically...

On the plus side of this evening, I've finally managed a reason to open that bottle of salad cream I bought a week ago. Finally boiled an egg to have with it and it was JUST what I wanted. Toast dipped in salad cream isn't half bad either!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.