The Daily Bun

By pennybun

Butterfly 15: Gatekeeper

Went for a wander along part of the Trans-pennine trail today, and through a woodland and onto a lovely heath. I'd hoped I might see some dragonflies, but no joy still. It was, however, a good butterfly day, with some fine green tiger beetles thrown in for good measure.
This gatekeeper butterfly is quite common in the south but becomes increasingly rare the further north you get, so although still within its range, it's a good sighting for S.Yorkshire.
More of today's sightings here on Flickr First Monday night without my art class now we've finished for the summer, but I've signed up for next year. I'll have to discipline myself to keep sketching over the next couple of months so I don't get out of practice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.