The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Three For A Girl ....

I love corvids ...

That'll upset the people at Songbird Survival!

I had my highest ever count of Magpies in the back garden. Seven at the maxima.

I had just mowed the lawn, and they must have come down to see what had been thrown up from the freshly exposed undergrowth (yes - it was that long!).

I had just settled down for a cuppa in the "chill out room", when they arrived. I suspect there were a couple of adults and a number of this years young. I wanted to get some in flight to give the same treatment as the starlings. Alas, the overcast skies thwarted me for shutter speeds anywhere near fast enough.

The Magpie is an amazing bird. There are many tales from birders of their habits. Incredibly clever birds, and much maligned. Unfairly in my opinion. As yet, there is no proven case for culling these birds, despite what Songbird Survival would like you to believe.

The title of the blip is of course from the nursery rhyme. There are a number of different variants of this song. The one most know is:

One for sorrow
Two for joy
Three for a girl
Four for a boy
Five for silver
Six for gold
Seven for a secret, never to be told
Eight for a wish
Nine for a kiss
Ten for a bird you must not miss


Something you may not know. The song originates from Lincolnshire. It has been used over and over again, in everything from TV Theme songs, books, films and rock albums! Take a listen/ look at this cracking song by Counting Crows - Murder Of One.

This individual has a distinct eye marking. I shall be keeping an eye out for him over the coming weeks.

I give you the Magpie (Pica Pica) - A bird of unnoticed beauty and intelligence!

Rejected Blip: Magpie - Pica Pica

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.