The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

King Of Them All

A day out in the Wild West of Wales.

Burry Port to be exact in Llanelli, at the Wildfowl and Wetland Trust Nature Reserve of the Llanelli Millennium Wetlands.

It was a funny day for photography. Most people thing, oh, bright, sunny day, that will be good for photographs, when in reality it can be a nightmare. It was a very harsh light, not many shadows and lots of glare off reflected surfaces.

I still got some nice ones, and fulfilled one of my photographic challenges I set myself this year. Having succeeded with getting a shot of a Cuckoo on my birthday, this was the second one ticked off. I also think I have marginally improved on last Septembers effort.

This was taken through glass from the observatory there. I moved to the Peter Scott Hide, I saw the Kingfisher several times, but it never landed on any of the overhanging branches. Mind you, the two of us in the hide were suffering badly from hayfever. So with all the snivelling, coughing and sneezing, it was little wonder they stayed away!

I suspect he/she had little 'uns, as there was a definite feeding pattern. You could almost set your watch by him/her.

All in all, not my most successful day, but with a shining jewel in the middle of it!

I have put more from the day up in my Llanelli WWT Summer 2011 Flickr Set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.