Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Different lives

I decided on the spur of the moment to spoil myself, and get a change of scenery when it came to take-a-break time. So I went up the road to Clontarf Castle for 'afternoon tea' (well, coffee and a sandwich, actually. This is a bit of a favourite haunt of mine, and I've already blipped bits of it before. I really like the way they've married the old and the new, and it has a great sequence of landings rising above a wonderfully impressive full-height central atrium -- ideal for leaning over and catching people unawares. The goings-on today intrigued me, and I especially liked the separate groups of people in this shot, each totally oblivious of what the others were up to.

I was a bit rushed, not just because I needed to get back to work, but also because I'd put out a line of washing earlier and I was a bit wary of what the weather was doing. I'd already had to dash out once to unload and reload the washing line, and I was on the uppermost landing when I heard the sound of heavy rain beating on the glazed roof of the atrium. I ran down to ground level and was greeted by a massive hail shower, which got worse as I drove back home. The washing was soaking,, of course when I got back. The shower passed quickly, the sun came out, the washing is still out too. Hopefully the brisk breeze will dry things off at least a bit. I need to remember, though, to take the clothes in before I go out later this evening to meet my pal Tom for our monthly get-together for chat, drinks and meal. We're eating in Dobbins Restaurant this time. It's a while since I've been there, and this will be Tom's first time. I hope it's good. Coffee and sandwich isn't enough to keep me going until tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.