shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Rural industry

Heading back up to Glasgow in a half an hour, but had time for one more walk WITH the dog, and my nephew and niece. I decided to put in a little bit of history to this last island blip. This shot shows what are/were the two major industries (excepting of course tourism) in the part of the island I'm from - sheep and fishing! The foreground shows the remains of the Catacol barking house and the metal tubs which were used to melt tar for the nets, then the sheep which took over the land from the people during the clearances (which is when they were expected to become fishermen, having historically been crofters). And some hills and mist for prettiness can't go wrong either! I should note that as this is a Catacol blip the sheep are in a field, behind a wall. If this was Lochranza there would be no wall - see my first blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.