My Life Is Not Average

By melamny

Bonfire Revelations

We took all the campers to Keswick today. I had never been before myself, although when the Keswick Convention is on, my shop takes a bookstall down and so I've heard about it a lot over the last few years. It's quite nice, rather a lot of outdoor shops but it is surrounded by beautiful countryside so it's of no surprise really. We ate lunch in a park and then wandered around the town, although some of the campers went rock climbing, swimming, and some climbed up a hill nearby. I bought a new collar for my dog, some watches for my group as they're used to using their phones to tell the time and they don't have their phones on them all the time at camp, and presents for my group.

This evening the teaching was partly on justice and I realised that my attitude to poverty isn't that great - it's so far away from me, but I know I could do much more to improve the lives of others. Even if it makes some things in my own life slightly less convenient, there are things I could be doing that would hugely benefit the life of someone somewhere. Just because it's out of sight doesn't mean it should be out of mind.

After the evening meeting, we had group time around a bonfire including marshmallows and hot chocolate! The discussion was really good, somehow being outside and around a nice warm fire was a good environment for talking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.