Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

The Old and the New

I haven't ventured out much today, as I've spent most of the time viewing my Blipfoto feed and catching up with some reading, although I did have to pop down town this afternoon and hence my blip being of the Market in Neath. I didn't realise at the time but I also included the Marks and Sparks sign and clock, hence the title "the old and new".

I love old buildings they've got so much character and history about them, earlier in the day I'd seen a blip about Paddington Station in London, another fascinating piece of architecture. So back to Neath Market what do we know? Well it was originally built in 1837, over a half century before old Marks and Spencer decided to join up and form they're own little shop. The building as it is today was constructed in 1904, and it's amazing to think that this building has been in that exact same spot and providing the same service for over 170 years.

It is also rather apt today to mention Marks and Sparks today after last nights Apprentice, because just like Michael Marks and Tom Spencer, Tom Pellereau is now chasing his dream of developing his own business. A win for the good guys, showing you don't have to be a back stabber to do well in business.

Going back to my blip from the other weekEverything crossed X, I think if I did win the lottery and give up my job I'd open a market stall selling books. It might not be popular and might not make any money, but I just like the idea of being able to read, chat with other bookworms and just people watch through the market day. Better buy that ticket now and chase my dream!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.