Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Solo Harpsichord

Today we attended the first EVER solo harpsichord recital in the history of the Proms (so we were told by Catherine Bott in the introductory talk). It was actually the lunchtime Proms Chamber Music concert at Cadogan Hall, and consisted of a performance of the whole of Bach's "Goldberg" Variations by Mahan Esfahani.

We were awoken, as usual, by Smudge, who was determined to deny us a lie in, despite the fact that the Wonderspouse had taken the day off work. We got up and drove to Kensington, parked, then had a pleasant walk down to Cadogan Hall, being rather flabberghasted by the posh clothes shops on Sloane Street, which apparently had bouncers on the doors - presumably to keep riff-raff like ourselves out of their elite worlds!!!

The concert was splendid, and, for once, the Wonderspouse didn't just "put up with" my stuff - the Goldberg Variations are probably his favourite piece of classical music - he knows them through, er, Hannibal Lecter, who's some sort of fictional serial killer who eats people's liver with fava beans and Amarone and listens to Bach!

Afterwards, in order to save money on parking, we got the tube back so we didn't roll over to the next hour, spent the money we'd saved on pasties and pop for lunch, then drove home again!

On arrival back home, there was a large package on the doorstep - the hammock I've bought myself with some of my birthday money (most will go on the MOT, but I thought I could get myself a hammock, particularly as they were spectacularly reduced). I spent the rest of the afternoon building it, then lay in it for a while.

It said it needed two people to build. The Wonderspouse said he hadn't signed up for hammock building duties. I built it on my own anyway - not sure what the second person would have done, except perhaps make tea and comment on my hammock construction prowess! ;-)

The Wonderspouse also said that he'd hoped to relax this afternoon. I said I was building stuff and that WAS relaxing! He said that HE'D hoped to relax, but there was some idiot building a giant hammock in the sitting room!

Oops!

Goodness only knows how he puts up with me!

Maybe he just likes being taken to hear the Goldberg Variations!

:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.