wingpig

By wingpig

and lo, he receivedeth the electricity bill

WHY is there a Z where the Y should be on this keyboard? Thankfully everything works as if it's where it should be but to get that apostrophe I had to press the key marked Ä and the question mark is the minus/underscore button. To get the image cropped I had to use MS photo editor with which I am not at all familar and had to navigate by memory as my German isn't up to programme menu standard. My knowledge of the international settings options positions does not extend as far as changing the menu language to English either.

All arrived in Munich safely after the previous day's delays. Hotel room stank of fags but the window opens all the way and it was lovely and bright and warm upon our arrival. Didn't stop everyone else from sticking on coats, hats, gloves and scarves and STILL complaining that it was zu viel kalt; apparently they all plan to buy long undergarments and extra gloves in the morning which will give me time to steam around a couple of camera shops (at a DECENT SPEED) to get my 50mm f/1.8 if anyone has it. Even my dad who can usually keep up with me is dawdling along with the others and doing silly things like walking four abreast at the expense of other pavement-users. Still, we had a very pleasant day and a nice sausage-based meal just now. The hotel has a free internet and a base unit which was finally persuaded to recognise my card reader and copy the day's pictures to a spare CF card and finally crop a file to beneath 2Mb. I have better pictures of the day but can't spend too long on this as a bloke has glanced round the corner expectantly a couple of times. I'll stick a link to a better picture when back home and able to spend a respectful amount of time editing and fiddling.

Besides the clothing-plot I believe we're visiting some sort of palace thing tomorrow afternoon. No-one seems keen on the 12 Euro three-gallery multi-ticket for some strange reason andwould rather trundle round old church things like the one above which are all very architecturally pleasant but all generally the same. It's also really hard to be quiet when you have to keep opening the big velcro strap on your camera bag.

Hope everyone's OK back there. Off to read New Scientist which this week has a nice article about why my tendency to convert excess energy to heat, fidgeting and sweating rather than fat is probably genetic. Handy but irritating at times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.