Capital adventures

By marchmont

Street view

I found myself early this morning looking at Google streetview, of La G 'my' house in France. It was weird, looking at the drive to the house and feeling I could walk up it and through the front door. I was trying to work out when the Google car drove past. It was a Thursday morning (the Mairie is open), late summer, the vigne vierge is red, and after I'd put the Pas de Publicite sign on the mailbox but before the panneau marking the start of the village had been moved so probably Sept/Oct 2009. I was there then but the shutters, apart from one of our bedroom ones, are closed. Was I away? I always wanted to be on Streetview but there is no car on the drive so I can't have been there but Herve's dog, Dick, is. He died last year.

But the amazing thing is that, as you take the road out of the village toward Chou Chou's, the season changes from late summer to midwinter and back again. Very disorientating. It also means L's car appears twice - once, in summer, in the village square and then, in winter, further out the road in the drive to their house. How to be in two places at the same time.

This is an Edinburgh street view - a harpist, playing 'Greensleeves' on the Royal Mile. I'd have liked a tighter shot but couldn't work out how to do the zoom on the phone camera. I can do it now!

Didn't manage to watch the Murdoch hearings as T came by to discuss my plans. Later, braved the rain for oysters and sea bass with K. Yum!

Tomorrow, coffee with Lady F.

P.S. - yesterday's blip was a close up of my dust busting duster. Like I said arty dusting. Today I ironed and washed, and broke a picture frame flipping the mattress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.