earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Home Sweet Home

Back home today. We were duly picked up by our driver at 5.30am to take us to Geneva airport but felt lucky that he arrived safely and on time. His Satnav had taken him over the Galibier - the route we had taken on our bikes the previous evening - with fresh snow on the pass and zero visibility. Apparently it had been more than a little scary. The lesson is surely to first do a sanity check with a map rather than trusting completely to technology!

Arrived at lunchtime, still not feeling great, but at least able to finally get a bit of food down. Whenever I return after a trip away I love to take a walk on the moor and remind myself that although my local hills aren't exactly mountains I still live in a very special and beautiful little corner of the world. This is an iconic Ilkley Moor picture of the Cow and Calf Rocks rising above a sea of bracken.

My energy levels have been very low today, but our early flight home has enabled me to watch the last stage of the tour laid out on the sofa. Thoughts on that tomorrow ... but not a bad way to finish a holiday! Thanks for all the wonderful comments while I've been away. I will look forward to catching up with you all over the next few days ... but for now I need to collapse into the bliss of sleep in one's own bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.