Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

A Patch of Blue

Oh all right, it's not a patch of blue per se but you get the idea.

I just wanted to post something to tell you all that I am still alive and kicking.

A problem arose on Monday afternoon, which has kept me pre-occupied for the past couple of days and is likely to keep me so for the new few days as well. I was working on processing images taken at the weekend in Photoshop and just completed a B&W conversion. When I came to save the psd, I received a message telling me that my hard drive was full. Sure enough, I had only 45MB of free space.

I am in the process of going through all my folders, ditching stuff that I should have thrown away at the time I downloaded it but didn't. I imagine that is a scenario you are all familiar with.

Yesterday, I worked through all the images taken with my Leica D-LUX 3, images that go back as far as 2006. Today, I did the groundwork for tackling the folders of the Canon 40D before moving on to the Ricoh folders.

I have a feeling the developers of Blipfoto must have shares in several of the hard drive manufacturers. Taking images every day certainly eats into the free space on a hard drive.

I could opt for a new 1TB hard drive, I actually have the funds and one vacant hard-drive bay on my Mac Pro, but I would not have the means to back-up the images it contained. In fact, I was on the point of buying another external hard drive because not all my photographic work was backed up on the ones I already own.

If any computer-orientated people have any suggestions, please let me know.

In the meantime, I am heavily involved in housework on the hard drive. Yesterday, I managed to free up 20GB of space and the coming days should see more space become free. I have told myself that I need to be more ruthless when it comes to deciding what to save and what to throw away. A lot of the stuff is dross, as you all well know. :-)

Normal service will be resumed as quickly as possible.

I would like to thank all those people who posted to congratulate me on reaching my 500th blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.