Backpack TopherHack

By TopherHack

Ferris Goes To Brooklyn

Just back from an outdoor screening of 'Ferris Bueller's Day Off' , the movie that taught my entire generation that truancy is the answer.
The screening was in a park in the Williamsburg area of Brooklyn, which seems to be part ugly and industrial (see above) but part pleasant, leafy and cafe-strewn. The result is a wonderful mix of fashionable hipsters, thick-accented Brooklynites, young parents and shouting-at-no-one mentalists.

The power of Ferris was enough to fill me with joy despite most of the crowd chatting, shouting, applauding - even getting up and dancing - pretty much all the way through film (I'm told movie-going is rarely a silent experience stateside).
To make matters worse I didn't bring my passport along, so I couldn't buy a beer ('Real sorry dude, no ID no beer, there's cops everywhere'), and the added bonus of a couple of pre-film live bands made the lack of an ale even more distressing.


'Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it'
Ferris Bueller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.