A Shaggy Cow Story

Best viewed large in all it's shagginess detail!

I went to Porlock Weir today to meet with my best friend Mary, ok, so it's a bit of a far off photo, but I doubt she'd want to feature in my blip... We had some lunch at the Ship Inn, then walked onto the beach & sat on the only bench... we bagged the bench, in fact, we bottomed it (I'll get my coat...) It was humid, close, at one point, the skies turned black & the Bristol channel looked like liquid! But all was ok, the clouds moved & a grey heron flew across the water, heavily cropped, so didn't make the blip shortlist! On the walk back, I got the shock & amazement of my life, I jumped for joy (Mary decided I had gone more loopy then usual) but LOOK, LOOK!!! On that fence over there... can it be??? Nah, I'm seeing things, but IT IS! LOOK MARY, a REDSTART!!!!, never seen one before.... oh my (my birding tendencies... never twitching mind!)

Then it was time for me to go, I was going to cut across through to Barnstaple, come back a different way, but I decided to go back over the moor again & I'm so glad I did, as I literally bumped into these beauties, highland cattle & their calves & what a posing bunch! It's the hair styles that crack me up, first of all it's the mother who can't simply see & then it's the calf with the funky hairdo, any modern hairdresser would simply love to be able to style hair quite like that!!! :D

Thanks again for all the stars, comments & hearts from yesterday's blip (*whispers* SL again usually side by side with Roy, we always seem to keep each other company! :) It's a big day tomorrow, don't ask me, I don't know, see what the weather brings.... & Lil' Larry is doing good, he was looked after in my absence today by his Dad & my own Dad too! :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.