Journey Through Time

By Sue

Meet ???

Short story: Went on our long walk, saw this Siamese that I've seen before but don't know it's name or anything about him/her, and took it's picture.

Long story: I just don't see that many Siamese cats anymore, I don't think. My family always had a Siamese in the family at one time. They are fun, usually friendly, talkative cats. Back in (gasp) 1958, a popular movie was Bell, Book and Candle with James Stewart (who was always way too old for his leading ladies, but, oh well), Kim Novak (at her elegant, sexy best) and Jack Lemmon (when he was an up and coming young star). This featured a lovely Siamese cat with the name of Pyewacket. Kim Novak played a witch and Pyewacket was her Familiar. Well, the cat sort of stole the show and Siamese cats became quite popular after that. It's a fun movie and I recommend renting it. I do believe the song "Love Potion #9" was inspired by that movie. Jimmy Stewart drinking this mixture given to him by Hermione Gingold, who played another witch, is hilarious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.