Journey Through Time

By Sue

Not Cape Horn

Well it is and it isn't. This is on the Cape Horn Trail east of us in the Columbia River Gorge out of Washougal. There is a newly dedicated overlook that is supposed to be a 2 mile trail and has a fantastic view of the gorge...like this. I hope you can see this image, if not let me know. However, the highway is being repaved and there is considerable road work being done and the place that we went to where one can park and then get on the Cape Horn Trail, is NOT the trail I want. This is a much longer route, that I knew would be too much for us. We walked up this trail, however, for a bit until it was very clear that this was not the kind of trail that I am going to be able to negotiate without having oxygen and a pack mule to carry me up the 400 foot elevation this trail offers. So, down the trail we went, but I have to hang on to Bill so I don't lose my balance and I felt like an idiot when we met the other hikers....young, strong, proper hiking shoes, backpacks...you know.. PREPARED. We explored a nearby road but that didn't lead us anywhere interesting, except to somebody's house where we had to turn around in their driveway and people were looking at us, and I had to roll down the window and smile, wave and say..."Sorry, lost!" and tell Bill to hurry and get us out of here! To top it off, the road paving held us up both coming and going, and it was, without a doubt, a complete waste of 3 hours, or more. Somewhere along the road, where they were doing the construction is another trail. A mysterious, hidden trail to the view I wanted to show you. Another time, maybe.

So, back home, resting, and I'll show you the pretty green trees that we saw on our 15 minute hike.

Hope all is well with everyone. I'm behind again with journals. Sigh. Maybe this everyday thing is a bit much. It seems to be hard for me to stay current.

See ya later, Blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.