The second half of life..

By twigs

The old man and the sea...........

Today's blip was going to be the H-U-G-E vessel (is it a boat........is it a ship....no - it's a small floating skyscraper!) that gingerly manouevered it's way through the Cut and in to Nelson Haven this morning. Many, many townsfolk turned out to see it and it really did make an impressive sight.

As I roamed the waterfront in search of the best vantage point to shoot from I met this chap...........

I was instantly drawn in, not only by his rugged, earthy looks but also by his chattiness, his interest in my photography and his amenability when I asked if he would mind if I attempted some portrait shots! As a former amateur photographer himself he understood my nervousness in asking him and he was the perfect model :) I just hope that he'd be pleased with what he saw if he were a blipper!

When it came to editing time I wasn't sure whether to blip the pic I have or this one....

I can't believe I didn't even ask him his name. I now feel so rude - and I feel the portrait is incomplete in some way too. (There's one lesson I've learned about portrait photography then!!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.