LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Borough Market

During the summer months, we have the option to work extra Monday - Thursday, in return for a half day Friday. Our team were off site for a meeting near London Bridge today, but the half day still applies and with the sun shining, what a great day for an early finish!

With a few hours to spare before my flight home, I took a walk along by Tower Bridge and the Tower of London in search of a blip. I had envisaged a Tommy Tourist style postcard pic of Tower Bridge...but then went for a look round Borough Market before catching the tube.

With the nice weather, it was busy, a good vibe, lots of colour and variety, not to mention the braw smells. I was a bit disappointed by the number of signs that said things like, 'Only Customers Allowed To Take Photographs'. Unless you are getting in the way of them trading and serving customers or bothering customers, what harm are you doing taking shots of the produce - which is surely a compliment to them and promoting their business and the market?

Anyway, I ignored the signs. I was a customer at the market and a big fan of the place, so didn't feel the need to buy from every interesting looking stall I shot.

This display of tomatoes and other fruit and veg stood out a mile off and was drawing plenty of attention from shoppers....and snappers, not just me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.