Me, My Camera & I

By notgraham

Balloon Man

Its a funny thing when you are all filled with enthusiasm for doing a bit of exercise after work, getting out the door with your bag on your back. Sun pops out and that enthusiasm dies a quick death.
Well that happened tonight. Instead of pounding a treadmill for a while, cycling a few Km or other *fun* activities I decided that tonight would be another nice night to drink more expensive lager and laugh at at some comedians, not any comedian - Richard Herring. This his 20th year at the Fringe.

I love Mr Herring. I find his other work to be insightful and I particularly like his Podcast "As it occurs to me". Tonights show was his first non-preview show and although it had it's moments it was slow to start off with the jokes (or I wasn't getting them....) . {**SPOILER} However, he did manage to make fun of Grannies, glitter and snow globes - something you wouldn't generally think could be put together into a comedy sketch, but he did.

While waiting for our show to start MrsCyclops, DrWkd, PCMcG and A were our on the scrounge for shows that were papering to fill their seats. And wouldn't you know it they managed at least 2 shows by my reckoning!
But, with free shows come some major Caveats as MrsCyclops can testify by *winning* some tickets once to see a show called "Horse" - probably the 2nd worst show I've ever seen.

However the worst show I have ever seen has to be MudFinger (yes it's on YouTube, and yes it's clean!). Another show I managed to see without shelling out a penny for, but so bad it was entertaining. Whoever thinks getting children to throw soap at them is funny is slightly deluded.

Anyway, back to tonight's fringe blip. This is Damian Clarke. His show is on at GB and looks to be quite good - he's flyering himself which is unusual, but nice in some sense. No free tickets, but if we've got any time left in August we might just pop along to see this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.