One of five a day

By KiloRomeo

Quaker Meeting House - Venue 40

Today's highlight was a pub lunch with work colleagues. It is a Friday lunchtime tradition which I need to make time for more often, given how much I enjoy it always.

The festival officially started today. It was hard not to notice that looking at the crowded streets. I am pretty pleased that the current festival theme on my blips is encouraging me to explore little side streets and passages, which I never knew, existed. Edinburgh central is a maze of levels, joined by stairs and sloping streets, very few of them straight. It really is quite a magnificent city.

I found my way from North Bridge where I had 3 men pose for a snap, through to North Bridge Arcade, onto Royal Mile and unexpectedly found myself on this terraced roof above Victoria Street. In the middle of the terrace is Venue 40, the Quaker Meeting House. I saw the board outside saying that Edinburgh Mandolin and Guitar Orchestra performance was sold out. Victoria Street below winds down out of sight towards Grassmarket. (see even larger)

On my drive back home, I heard on radio how big an event the Edinburgh Festival really is. It is the most exciting time of the year to be in this city and I certainly hope to make the most of it.

I dare say, the outblips (starting here) today are probably more interesting than the blip itself.

Do have a good weekend, all. :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.