Spun Sugar

My kitchen - a hive of activity.

Daughter E took over the kitchen - it was out of bounds for everyone but I took a little peep. First there was the sweet aroma of Chocolate Mud Cake drifting through the house - mmmm, so delicious!! Then the benches, cupboards and floor were completely covered in newspaper - whats going on here I wondered??? Daughter E was looking into a pot of  boiling sugar and water with a thermometer hooked to the side and then I spied the chopsticks cellotaped to the bench - huh??? Then it was quick work - the hot pot was taken from the element and plunge into cold water - boy did I jump with the loud sizzle!!! The whisk was dipped into the sugar syrup and flicked (yes I said flicked) back and forth over the chopsticks to create long hair-like strands!! They glistened under the kitchen light and I wondered what on earth was going to happen next.

A warm hot sauce was made for the mud cake and then the long strands of Spun Sugar were gathered in her hands and moulded into shapes and placed ever so delicately onto the cake - amazing!!

Why was she doing this I asked - well she has a presentation to do at school tomorrow in food technology on decorating and she chose Spun Sugar - what fun and so appealing - it tasted soooo delicious!! The Spun Sugar just melted in the mouth and tasted a little like candy floss.

This is certainly her passion and in time to come her chosen profession as a Patisserie Chef.

So the collage of the spun sugar and the lovely golden colours in the pot, reflected on the sides and cracked round the edges - my blip today :)

Many thanks to everyone for your words, I'm much better today but still not up to having a cuppa in my garden - perhaps tomorrow :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.