'Cheet Cheet'

Piwakawaka, Grey Fantail

It was a quiet call from the garden, 'Quick grab your camera' says Hubby, 'a fantail is going mad in the broadleaf tree'. Of course I wasn't prepared, busy doing the inside jobs, but grabbed my camera and headed quietly and slowly round to the broadleaf tree. Well, of course this tiny little bird had moved on and we soon discovered why there was so much noise, there were two of them, flitting around in my neighbours tree.

I got one shot only and this is it. Unfortunately only one fantail and the tail is down but I'm reasonably pleased with this hurried shot. Our sky was grey so I added a soft vignette, I also noticed the buds on my neighbours tree something I wouldn't have noticed thanks to this little fantail.

They're not shy little birds but can never keep still, always flitting around catching insects, flies, moths, beetles and mosquitoes. I have fond memories while on the West Coast of being surrounded by mosquitoes and a little fantail feeding on them, getting close enough to me that sometimes he touched me while chirping away with his little 'cheet cheet'.

I wonder if the two I saw today will return to my garden to build a nest towards the end of August, I will be watching.

Hubby and I have spent some time doing some family research on a William Teasdale HARRISON, very confusing as there are many name variations, Wm T HARRISON, William TEASDALE HARRISON, William TEESDALE HARRISON or just plain William TEASDALE or William HARRISON - what a mixture!

He was born in 1851, Scalby, Scarborough, UK, we would like to establish where the name Teasdale came from as its been passed down through the generations to my grandfather, my mum's father. Always questions and some answers when researching a family tree.

Other news both Mount Tongariro, situated in the middle of the North Island, and White Island, situated just off the coast from my home town of Whakatane, have erupted. White Island has been brewing over a day or two but Mount Tongariro was very quick overnight and not expected, sending clouds of ash into the sky and sulphur covering the landscape, hoping there will be no earthquakes to follow. It has been over 100 years since Mount Tongariro last erupted.

I've ended up writing quite a bit, hope its not too boring. Steady rain is falling and the temperature has dropped, the garden looks fresh in the wet but the sky is dismal and grey.

Many thanks for your wishes yesterday, I'm feeling much better today - hope it lasts.

Have a great week all :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.