Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Faded

I've been saving these roses so that I could take their photo before they went out. They've been well past their best for days now but for some reason the petals haven't dropped, so I guess they've been treated in some way.

Today was their day! Outside it's been wet and incredibly windy which has but paid to any outdoor blips this afternoon. The morning wasn't too bad and our walk to Tai Chi quite dry. (I think I'm actually get to know some of the routines at long last.)

I've been working on some resources that have been written by teachers for our web CPD unit. Just about done now, so this is another one I can sign off.

I'll be heading to bed soon - I need to start and read the next book club book - just one week left!

And I've just finished reading Sarah Dunant's novel `In the company of the courtesan', which I enjoyed immensely.

Here's a small quote from Sarah's website for anyone who might be interested:

From Florence to Venice. This, the second of my novels set in the Renaissance, grew out of Titian?s great portrait that has come to be known as ?the Venus of Urbino? (a detail of which is on the cover). The naked model was almost certainly a courtesan living in Venice at the time and it was courtesan culture that so interested me. But I think what made the novel different and such a challenge for me was its narrator: a 30-year-old male dwarf who works as the courtesan?s companion and manager. I had never written from inside the mind of a man before, and I loved it. It also gave me the chance to look at the thriving culture of sin and desire at a time when the Catholic church was at its most corrupt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.