Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Hoverflies on bramble flower

Taken with my point and shoot Panasonic camera. A fellow member of the Penistone Camera Club has taken some super shots of insects with a small and relatively inexpensive point and shoot Panasonic camera and I wondered if I could do the same. I've really struggled to do this with my more expensive macro lens! Maybe it was beginners luck or because I chose Hoverflies which don't seem to move around quite as quickly as bees but I've got several quite reasonable shots.

These were taken at the allotment where I spent several hours weeding and picking caterpillars off the Calvalo Nero (black kale). So despite all of my efforts to keep the butterflies out I think I probably imported the eggs already attached to the plants - probably Small White butterflies which were flying at the time (I did have a hole in covering over the nursery bed - silly me!).

I think the insects are Episyrphus balteatus on the left and Syrphus torvus topp and front. I might be wrong though. I also saw a blue one but it was too quick for me to photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.