Gutted!

What a nightmare. When I was on the bus home today the driver had to brake suddenly and my bag wasn't that well positioned on the seat. It fell off and I joked to one of my students who was on the bus that that would be my camera knackered never assuming it to be the case. Imagine my horror when I got home and got it out the bag to find this!

The camera itself was fine, but the barrel had come out of the lens. I suppose that's the downside of a lens made largely of plastic but it doesn't stop it being upsetting. I'm hoping there's a slip chance it's fixable in the short term. In the long term (and possibly the short if it isn't fixable) I will need to get a replacement. At the moment I'm trying to decide between a direct replacement, shelling out a bit more for the next one up in the Canon range which is made of metal and goes to f1.4 instead of 1.8 or waiting for the newly announced Sigma 50mm f1.4 EX DG HSM Aspherical lens to start appearing in the shops. Obviously an L series is out of the question.

One of the most upsetting things is that it was a Christmas present from Roz. When I first requested it the idea was that it would be a wee lens to add to my kit which would be useful from time to time. It very quickly evolved into probably my only indispensible bit of kit. There has only been about four or five times since Christmas that it has been off the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.