I'm not just Mummy

By Tinkerbell88

Nurse

GOOD MORNING !!

Today's blip is another of my "Roles" in life.


Today's picture is of my Partners medication and his little machine to check his sugar levels.

My partner has various tablets for various things, I lose count of what they are for, I just know what he has to take and when. I am my partners carer, he has a condition called BPD for those who do not know what that is, its Borderline Personality Disorder, it is difficult to explain from this side of things what it is like as I'm not the one with it, I just live and care for someone with it.

Borderline personality disorder (BPD) is a personality disorder described as a prolonged disturbance of personality function in a person (generally over the age of eighteen years, although it is also found in adolescents), characterized by depth and variability of moods. The disorder typically involves unusual levels of instability in mood; black and white thinking, or splitting; the disorder often manifests itself in idealization and devaluation episodes, as well as chaotic and unstable interpersonal relationships, self-image, identity, and behavior; as well as a disturbance in the individual's sense of self. In extreme cases, this disturbance in the sense of self can lead to periods of dissociation.
BPD splitting includes a switch between idealizing and demonizing others. This, combined with mood disturbances, can undermine relationships with family, friends, and co-workers. BPD disturbances also may include self-harm. Without treatment, symptoms may worsen, leading (in extreme cases) to suicide attempts.

Sometimes it can be hard if my partner has a bad day, bad days can vary from feeling tired and grouchy to snapping which means shouting and saying very hurtful things.

When he is having a good day he is the most wonderful person you would ever meet, we are starting to have a lot more good days than bad which is great and the bad days aren't as bad lately, the snapping is vary rare, it takes more now for him to get in that state and its a lot easier to snap him out of.

The best thing about my partner is that he tries so hard to not let my son see how he is feeling if its a bad day, he will do anything for my son even smile although he really doesn't want to he refuses to let him see him in that way, for that I think he is a wonderful Man.

My partner is a type 2 Diabetic and from the picture you can see he has to take the "Byetta" jab, he takes this twice a day, 30 minuets before food, sometimes it can make him very ill after and he is sick the rest of the night, but I'm right behind him rubbing his back.

When your a Mummy you are always playing nurse, when they fall and scrape there knees, bump there heads, temperature, you always have your first aid kit and medicine cabinet at the ready.


Just to clear things up today's blip is not a rant its just to try and raise awareness of my Partners condition and what it is like to live with someone with this condition. I love My partner more than words can describe and looking after him and my son is what gets me out of bed in the morning.

Have a good day all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.